Birthday Dress Re-Fashion

Let’s talk clothes. Clothes often hold a huge part in our lives. I happen to love clothes. Living in Uganda has both benefits and disadvantages to shopping for the perfect pieces of clothing. While there are a number of malls and retail clothing stores, they tend to be quite expensive. Most of my shopping is done at a local outdoor market. If you don’t mind chaos and washing your new finds when you reach home it can be a lot of fun. The biggest problem I have found with shopping at a market is that you can’t try anything on unless you put it on over your clothes and it’s hard to go looking for something specific because due to the nature of a market there is only one article of each item and the one you like may not fit. Personally I have a lot more fun shopping at the market if I go with a few things in mind (in no certain color or too specific of a style) like a pair of casual shoes, a new top, or a pair of pants. That way it leaves all the options open and I don’t go home disappointed that I didn’t find the perfect pair of black skinny jeans or red heels.

The plus side of going to the market and coming hope is that I have a trusty sewing machine that I can use to tailor things a bit to get a better fit if the things I purchased don’t go perfectly on my square figure. Don’t be afraid to pick up something from the thrift store or a garage sale and test out your sewing skills a bit. If you ruin it you have nothing to worry about if you picked it up for a dollar or two at your neighbors sale. You might surprise yourself and turn up with your new favorite blouse and improve upon your sewing skills at the same time.

A few months ago I was given a lovely dress by a friend for my birthday. Only one problem, it didn’t fit properly and therefore was highly unflattering. Check this out:

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

With just a few snips and stitches I was left with this (a much more flattering version of my birthday dress):

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

IMG_5749

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

As you can see…the latter version is much better fitting. Don’t be afraid to try something new or snip the wrong thing. I’ve learned so much from my numerous mistakes and had a lot of fun along the way (as well as some frustrations). The most fulfilling part is wearing the finished product and the satisfaction in knowing that you made it perfect. What projects/clothing items have you changed for the better?? Or the worse?

Leave a Reply

