October: cheers to health and healthy recipes

Since getting married exactly 2 years and 1 week ago I’ve gained ten pounds….actually I gained all of those pounds in the month after our wedding (a week of honeymooning at an all inclusive resort in Mexico and another 3 weeks of road tripping up and down the west-coast visiting friends and family before moving to Kampala, Uganda). In the last 2 years since then I have gone down, then up, then down, then right back up again and then some. So…I’ve decided since I’m not getting any younger it’s time to be serious and try to get this body of mine kicked into shape.

Luckily for me, my husband is a good sport and for the month of October (we started a few days early) I have successfully convinced him that we should get healthy together. Woop woop! What does this mean for us? More veggies, more fruits, no gluten, no refined sugars, no dairy except yogurt and more water along with some amount of weekly exercise. At this point the commitment to the aforementioned sentence is pretty big for our current lifestyle, but also calls for a bit of wiggle room.

We’ve just completed week 1 and both him and I are down more than 2 pounds each. That’s definitely motivation to keep pressing on….not to mention that fact that when I get those ten pounds off I will be rewarded with getting my hair done. Which I’m hoping will be just in time to go back to the States in November and visit family for Thanksgiving ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Both Seth (my husband and bestie cakes) and I are breadaholics. Seriously. In our normal eating habits we often happily eat buttered toast and orange juice for dinner on nights when we get home after 8 and almost always eat toast with eggs or toasted pb&j sandwiches for breakfast. Not healthy habits to start. Due to these habits I excepted that it would be extremely difficult to cut bread from our diets but this week has proven the opposite. Rather than eating bread with almost every meal we’ve actually eating a much larger number of vegetables. Yay us!

Here are a few recipes I’ve tried this week that we have loved! (disclaimer: I subbed out a number of ingredients because they either aren’t readily available where I live or I just didn’t have them in my cupboard when I decided to test out the recipes in the moment that I found them)

I generally sub out:

  1. Coconut flour for oat flour (oatmeal that has been blended for a few pulses)
  2. Coconut sugar for maple syrup or honey
  3. Tapioca flour (I haven’t been able to find it in any supermarket near me) for cassava flour
  4. Black beans for kidney beans or pinto beans

Chocolate Muffins (a great alternative to brownies when your trying to eat healthy, not to mention the addition of vegetables into your dessert! I used oat flour.):ย http://www.livingnaturallyautoimmune.com/recipes/2016/8/28/grain-free-nut-free-chocolate-zucchini-muffins

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Granola (SO delish with yogurt and a banana for breakfast…not to mention plenty of fiber!) http://cookieandkate.com/2015/healthy-granola-recipe/

img_8165

Stuffed Peppers (So easy! I normally stuff my peppers with whatever leftover meat and a bit of brown/white rice mixed in. Perfect for nights when you get home a bit late to don’t want to put a lot of effort in)ย http://minimalistbaker.com/spanish-quinoa-stuffed-peppers/

Cassava Flour French Bread (It was quite easy, although it was good….it was best eaten the same day I baked it)ย http://cookituppaleo.com/paleo-french-bread-cassava-flour/

img_8097

I love experimenting with different flours (maize, cassava, oat) and sweeteners (bananas, honey, maple syrup). Have you found another great alternatives??

What are your favorite healthy recipes??

I’m always looking for new recipes….what blogs do you follow with the best recipes?

Leave a Reply

