diy: Friendship Choker

Honestly….I’m not sure the chokers I wore for about a week during my baby teen years were ever cool but for some reason they seem to be more than cool now.

Often times I feel a bit behind the times as far as fashion goes. Really it all depends on where in the world you base the latest fashion trends coming from. For me, being that I was born and raised around Portland, OR, USA but now reside in Kampala, Uganda I base the latest fashion trends on what I see my American friends posting on Facebook (basically the best way to make you feel sorry for yourself because Target isn’t two miles away). Lately I’ve seen so many chokers….so, obviously I decided I NEEDED to try it out. And why not really, it takes me back 13 years to junior high when I was 13 years old. Seriously though…where has all the time gone?

Here’s what I can up with: The Friendship Choker

img_8231Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Whipping this dark teal baby up was so nostalgic. Because come on, we all made friendship bracelets at one time or another. I realized as I made mine that it’s sort of like riding a bike. Once you learn, you just know, even if you haven’t used your skills in about 10 years.

I made mine with all one color and only four strands of thread…but I’m thinking that I’ll try it again with a few colors and maybe a bit thicker next time.

Wikihow has a great tutorial if you want to try your hand at choker and you weren’t homeschooled like me and didn’t make them on every road trip and during every movie.

Wikihow – Friendship Bracelet

Do you have a favorite choker style? What do you think about them?? Yay or nay?

Here are a few of my favs that are available online:

  1. Kinda punk: Target – Layered Choker
  2. Cute bow: Forever21 – Bow choker
  3. Classy rhinestones: Nordstrom – Rhinstone choker
Leave a Reply

