Love Challenge: PATIENCE

love-is-patient

Let’s get personal. Lately I’ve felt challenged on the level of love that show to others, so I’ve decided (been prompted by God) to do something about it. It’s nothing I haven’t done before….but it’s been a while (5 or 6 years) since I last took time and put effort into intentionally loving people. That’s TOO long, much too long. I’ve noticed myself being short with people (including my husband) and putting more blame on how others respond to me than on how I treat or respond to them.

Whether you are a christian or not, the Bible has a lot to say about how we should treat the people around us (friends and enemies alike). For the next large number of weeks I’ll be focusing on a passage out of 1 Corinthians 13 (the famous “love” chapter in the Bible) and going systematically through the section of verses focusing on what love is and is not. I’ll be posting about my successes and failures every once in a while as venture in this.

Join me! We can together better ourselves and in turn, the people around us.

As humans we respond to love. We love, love. Well some of us do. But love is about more than just love stories and butterflies and it’s not only for couples. Love is for all of us, and how we should treat each other is with love in every situation.

Week #1: Love is PATIENT

Patience is something I am often lacking in. You can ask my husband, the interns he and I lead together, my family, my friends and the checkout lady at the grocery store….this is something I NEED to grow in. Getting flustered about a simple situation of irritated when things don’t go my way shows a lack of patience, not to mention how irritated I can get about stuck in traffic that really only adds five minutes to my journey. Is it really a big deal in the long run?? Five minutes? No.

Seriously, join me this week as I try my hand (with bucket loads of help from God) at practicing patience out of love for the people around me.

Is there anything that you are working on to better yourself? What is it? How can we help each other grow?

Leave a Reply

